Cowtown – Dudes Vs. Bad Dudes Review

March 26, 2013

cover-e13598307979321

Cowtown are a band based in Leeds and their new record, Dudes Vs. Bad Dudes is out 1t April on the wonderful Audacious Art Experiment. It’s a label I have great respect for and, as such, tend to be interested in anything they’re doing and whatever music they’re putting out. So I thought I’d give my two cents on this new offering.

First listen through and I wasn’t convinced. It just didn’t have much of an impact on me. But, after listening to it numerous times I’ve begun to like it more and even understand it. It’s a mess of an album in the sense that the influences are vast. I can hear bits of Devo and even Deerhoof in here, amongst a selection of nods towards countless other styles. Understandably, a record with influences from different ends of the music spectrum may feel lost or unsure of its purpose but for Cowtown it works to their advantage. It gives me the idea that this is a band that spends all their time entrenched in music and they’re combining all of these influences and discoveries into one fantastic record.

It’s a really enjoyable listen and a fairly short one at that. At just under 30 minutes, it isn’t exactly the longest record I’ve heard. That being said, it makes good use of this time. Not once did it feel rushed or under ambitious. Just right I guess. Standout tracks for me are ‘Animals’ and ‘Love is a Lie’ which present their highly diverse and influence rich sound just perfectly.

Seriously, check it out. It’s up for streaming now on the Cowtown bandcamp.

It’s being released as digital download and Vinyl. Just look at that artwork too. I bet it’d look great squeezed in amongst your other record.

Leave a Reply

