This Aint Vegas

April 13, 2012

Over the years, the North East music scene has produced a wealth of talent. On one hand, you have the alternative ‘indie rock’ bands Maxïmo Park and The Futureheads, on the other you have Sting.What I’m trying to say is that there has been a plethora of musicians, spanning the whole sound spectrum, some of which have gained critical success, some of who haven’t and some who weren’t even looking for it. Hidden in between this mass of names and genres is a band called This Aint Vegas. I have to say, without a doubt, that they are one of the best bands to ever come out of the North East.

Now this is a band who stayed clear of the ‘mainstream’ but still managed to have a fairly sizable, underground following. I myself was one of those people. Soon developing an obsession with the band I tried to make it to as many shows as possible. Even though I was only 16 at the time I managed to sneak my way into various over 18s venues to see the band play (and drink a few beers while I was at it). I think it was the first ‘local’ band that I ever really had much respect for. They really did open my eyes to the world of ‘alternative’ music.

Their sound was raw yet distinctive. While they took a lot of inspiration from early post hardcore forefathers Fugazi, they managed to make music that didn’t seem like a direct copy but rather a fresh reinterpretation of the music we’d heard before. The sharp, angular guitar work mixed in seamlessly with the Northern accent heavy vocals to give a truly distinctive sound. They were an inspirational band, not only to me but to most people still playing music in the North East today.

Sadly though, like all good things, it had to come to an end. Through their time as a band they released two albums, three singles and a split single featuring a Devo cover. While the albums and final single are still readily available over the internet, their early, very limited, vinyl only releases were more of a task to track down. Now though, they have kindly put their whole discography up and Bandcamp for our perusal. These are songs I’ve been spending years searching for with no luck. Songs that I’d only ever heard live. It’s so refreshing and inspiring to be hearing these tracks again. It’s revived my love for the band. I’m hoping that it might also get some more people listening to them. So for this reason, I had to share it.

 

Seriously, listen to it all. Absorb it. Love it.

 

A selection of This Aint Vegas now play in the ornithological rock band B>E>A>K who are also pretty ace.

Check them out on Bandcamp

Leave a Reply

