AV Festival 12: As SLow aS Possible

February 1, 2012

I for one am very excited by the prospect of AV festival.

One month of art, music and film based around the idea of slowing down time.

I’ve always been a fan of the ‘Avant-garde’ side of things. Something that’s a bit different, that thinks outside the box. So for me, this festival is something I’m anticipating.

Have a look what they’re offering.

A 12 hour sleep concert orchestrated by Nurse with Wound curator Stephen Stapleton, A tribute to Throbbing Gristle’s Peter Christoperson and a Lament for John Cage are just some of the shows on offer.

Add to that numerous films, exhibitions and installations and you can start to get the picture.

I am going to try to attend as much of this as possible. There is so much I want to see and experience. I think it’s quite rare for something so diverse to be shown in such magnitude. One month dedicated to the obscure. I think it really is something great how something like this is going ahead. I don’t know many people, especially not in Newcastle, who have a big interest in the more experimental side of art and music. But this festival just goes to show that there are people out there who appreciate it. I find it quite reassuring.

I hope everyone reading this tries to make it down. I know it’ll be brilliant and is likely to be an interestingly diverse month.

Read more at: http://www.avfestival.co.uk

Leave a Reply

