Sova Magazine

January 13, 2012

I’ve always been a fan of graphic design. I’ve always had a passion for photography. I’ve always loved typography. It’s rare to find all three together in one place. Even rarer to find them presented well.

Sova magazine is an independent publication which combines these three art forms beautifully. It’s a self published art magazine full of inspiring photography and well crafted graphic design. I’ve been aware of Sova magazine for quite some time, after following the blog of editor Martin Petersen, but only recently decided to buy it. Since it’s published in Germany, I was always sceptical about shipping costs. But I bit the bullet and ordered their second issue entitled ‘Angst’.

I’ve been amazed ever since. As the post came through the door one morning, I spotted a thick package with a German post mark on it. I was excited and opening the package made me even more so. It wasn’t just a magazine, it was a whole plethora of related medium. I got posters, postcards and mountains of stickers. I love this sort of stuff. I felt overwhelmed at the contents of the packge I’d bought. This is how self publishing should be. It has a true passion and dedication to the art form. It’s been made with the highest skill and effort, and that alone makes it on of the best zines out there. The attention to detail and the dedicationt that has gone in to making each individual issue is something special.

I strongly urge anyone who even has the slightest interest in self publishing, photography or design to check out Sova Magazine. It’s given me a lot of inspiration. I can’t wait for the next issue to come out.

Sova Magazine, Unpacked.

Leave a comment